By in
The Kokatha Aboriginal Corporation AGM and Common Law Holders’ Meeting was held on Saturday 18 November and Sunday 19 November in Port Augusta.
The KAC Board would like to thank the Kokatha community members, who attended in high numbers over the weekend. ‘The AGM and CLHM could not have gone so well without your support,’ said Director Carly Chamberlain.
The community voted against a resolution at the AGM to remove the existing Board, meaning the four Directors who were not up for re-election will remain on the Board for another 12 months and elections were held for the other four positions.
The new Directors joining the Board are Michael Turner, Chereena Amos and Joyleen Thomas. Mel Reid was re-elected to the Board.
The Directors thanked the Kokatha community members for showing confidence in them. ‘It has been a privilege to be selected and supported by our community to work for you all,’ said Carly. ‘We are extremely grateful to have this opportunity to continue working for you into 2024. We will do everything possible to be a voice for our community and to advocate to improve the lives of all Kokatha people.’
The Board also acknowledged the efforts and commitment of Denise Thomas, who was not re-elected, during the eight and a half months she served as a KAC Director.
The full list of KAC Directors is as below:
◾ Carly Chamberlain
◾ Nyani Thomas
◾ Janice Wingfield
◾ Leeanne Strangways
◾ Mel Reid
◾ Michael Turner
◾ Chereena Amos
◾ Joyleen Thomas
◾ Margot Richardson (Independent Director)
Congratulations to the newly elected Directors and re-elected Director.
The Trust Advisory Council members and CHC representatives will be updated on the website.
Thank you also to all the Kokatha Aboriginal Corporation and Kokatha Pastoral staff who helped make the weekend such a success.
(0 votes. Average 0 of 5)